I love you so much that it hurts

I tucked him into bed last night for the first time in weeks, and I don’t remember him ever giving me a hug like the one he’s laying on me now.  I can barely breathe, and he wont let go of me.  When did he become so strong?  He let’s out a grunt, and one final squeeze of me before he loosens up both arms from around my neck.  Even though his room is dark we can see each other clearly when we are face to face.  With our hands on each others cheeks he tells me in a whisper “Thank you so much Mom!  Thank you for the best birthday ever!  You’re the best”  I was so caught off guard with his loving and kind words that I didn’t really know what to say next.  So I pull him in for another tight hug, and then I whisper into his ear “If I could give you the world, and everything you ever wanted in it, I honestly would.  You are simply wonderful, and I feel so lucky to be your Mommy!”  He smiles, big.  I kiss him all over his silky freckled face until he pushes me away because it tickles.  I cannot believe that 10 years have passed since the day we were blessed with this amazing child. Could he ever really know the vastness of my love for him?  I hope that I never stop trying to show him, every day. ❤

6 thoughts on “I love you so much that it hurts

    1. Yes, there will still be lots of love for us Mommies, at least until the teenage years come. I still miss nibbling on his chunky baby thighs, and I think I always will. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

