Things that I hope go unnoticed

    • I have gained 10 pounds since I quit smoking.
    • The black flats that I wear every day are far too narrow for my fat and wide feet.
    • I cut my bangs way too short this time.
    • I always carry my light grey handbag on one side to hide the blue pen markings all over the other side.
    • How unhappy I truly am underneath this fake smile that I wear like a helmet for protection.
    • How I feel as though I am growing more insecure and more thin skinned every single day.
    • I barely have a clue of what I am doing with my life, and at 38 I think I know less about the world than I ever have before.
    • How badly I need help, and how much it pains me to even ask for it.

Day 2: Writing 101

This is response to Writing 101 Day 2 assignment. I feel as though I am off to a bumpy start since I could not complete a positive lists of likes, hopes, wishes, etc.

10 thoughts on “Things that I hope go unnoticed

  1. Nowhere in the rules did it say it had to be a positive list, and I think yours is better than those that are positive, if only because it gives us a glimpse into who you are and what you struggle with. It gives us something deeper to connect to.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. This list is honest and real — I appreciate it. As someone else said, positivity wasn’t a requirement for this assignment!

    I barely have a clue of what I am doing with my life, and at 38 I think I know less about the world than I ever have before.

    My husband and I were talking about this yesterday, when we were chatting about our professional lives and “career paths” — and how the older we get, the less we feel we know.

    I also liked the mix here — the ones about your bangs and handbag are seemingly small details but I identify with them so much, and the one about your fake smile is sharp and powerful.

    Thanks for joining this course!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi there and thank you so much for your kind words! I am very excited to be part of this course, and so far it has been inspiring me to write more. The creative juices are running wild!

      Like

  3. I agree with all the other comments! I love that you were not afraid to wear your heart on your sleeve and put it out there. When we are compelled to blog in this way, it can be so liberating and freeing to just get those words out into the world. I’m 36 and feel like I don’t know where I’m going. And I too, have been feeling insecure and thin-skinned, which is a new feeling for me. I wonder if it’s an epidemic that our generation is currently experiencing, lol!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

