We need to get out more

You’re a kid, your whole life is awesome. It’s awesome, right? You had no money, no ID, no cell phone, no nothing, no keys to the house. You just ran outside into the woods. You weren’t scared of nothing. I challenge you to do that as an adult. All your IDs, all your credit cards — just run out of the house with no phone, turn the corner where you can’t see your house, and not have a full on panic attack.  -Bill Burr

Comedian Bill Burr has a direct line to my funny bone, but there is a lot of truth in this quote from one of his stand up show’s.  I can’t remember the last time I left my house without a full face of make up, let alone without a laundry list of what I believe to be essential items.  So how did we turn into this?

I grew up in a small town, and in the summer my parents would literally lock us out of the house!  In the morning Mom would hand us each $1.25, and if you were careful you could make this last all day long.  It was enough to pay for one days admission to the public swimming pool, 1-2 items from the vending machines AND a small vanilla cone.  Life really was great!

But there were also a lot of scary things that came along with this freedom I had as a child.  Like the pervy older boys who felt me up me under the water, being chased by stray dogs on the walk home, and getting beat up.  Not to mention the fact that I never had swim lessons.  One day at the pool I had a close call when a so-called-friend thought it was funny to push me into the deep end.  I just remember how bad my lungs hurt and I was trying not to puke.  The lifeguard had to pull me from the water, and I was so humiliated.  Mom never knew about any of these things, and it was alright because we could take care of ourselves.

Now that I have children of my own I wonder what sort of childhood they have in comparison to my own.  They are so sheltered, but at least they are safe.  When I got home form work yesterday my oldest told me with so much pride how he did something amazing.  He left the house on his own and checked the mail.  He’s 10 years old, and my mailbox is literally just 3 houses down on a really safe street!  I really think we need to get out more.  😉

Day 5: Writing 101

9 thoughts on “We need to get out more

  1. This reminds me of when I was 4 years old, and I just learned to ride my bike, and man — I took off. I cruised the neighborhood (well, like 5 blocks!) by myself for what felt like hours, but I suspect it wasn’t that long.

    But still, 4 years old?! I don’t have children, but I freak out when I let my 3-year-old niece play upstairs when I’m downstairs.

    Anyway, random thought. Thanks for helping to conjure up those memories of riding my bike.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this. I also had a small town upbringing where I would run the neighborhood with my friends from morning to night. Our parents had no idea where we were most of the day. My kids are sheltered like yours and while I know I have to keep them safe, I am sad that they don’t have the freedoms that we had as kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t have kids, so no kids words of wisdom. But I dare ya to go out with no cell, no make-up, no wallet. Take a walk. Remember being a kid again, physically. It’ll feel great 🙂 I do it all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I, too, remember playing outside, going to parks within walking distance, riding my bike, etc … all without parental supervision or a cell phone. I try to give my children a little freedom, without going overboard … Like letting them play outside without me breathing down their necks, letting them go for walks together as long as the oldest has her cell phone … Things like that. It’s not easy, though … The world seems so much scarier somehow than when I was younger, and it makes me want to do more sheltering (but, not too much)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the world is a scarier place now, and I also feel sad that my children will not ever experience the freedoms that we did. Thank you for taking the time to comment, just sorry it took me so long to reply. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

