Day 1: Exiting my time machine

If you’re not a full-time writer, or if your day is so full of other tasks that you have little time to write, consider these alternative questions: if you could step into a machine that gave you more time, how would you structure your day? What would you write with this extra time?

I woke today feeling refreshed.  The only thought I am holding in my mind is in regards to the temperature of my room.  It’s perfect. The sunlight barely peaking over the horizon transforms the second floor loft with a soft tangerine glow.  I tip toe to the refrigerator where I find a full bottle of peppermint mocha coffee creamer, and by the time I return to my room the coffee has finished brewing.  I pour myself a cup, turn on the television, and I catch a few minutes of the morning news while I am cradling and sipping from my warm, sweet beverage.  The boys are both still sound asleep, and my husband is sitting up in bed beside me reading the newspaper.  This is perfect.  I begin to carefully observe the thoughts swimming around inside of my brain, and I am fishing for a story.  It’s a carousel of card cataloged ideas, and thoughts.  The people who have touched my life.  The things that have happened to me.  It is now that I begin to outline my story.  I reach to open the top drawer of my nightstand where I find my spiral notebook and my favorite black gel ink pen.  Words flow freely from my hand to paper.  I move effortlessly and before I realize it I am done.  My story is written.  I get up from the bed for my second cup of coffee, and when I return I begin my editing.  This is perfect!

Day 9: Writing 101

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Exiting my time machine

Leave a Reply

